• 6) Christmas in Italy: a selection of Christmas letters from Italy

    Read the following  letters and you’ll see how our pen-pals celebrated Christmas in Italy !

     

     

    Hello Elsa J,

    how are you? I'm fine!

    Now I want to tell you about my Christmas ! 

    On Christmas Eve my family and I stayed up until midnight when we exchanged presents.

    At Christmas we had a great lunch with my grandparents.

    We ate appetizers and chicken with vegetables. 

    In the afternoon we went to my other grandmother's house where we met my aunt and uncle and my cousins, and we started to talk about our "life" (since we see little during the year) and then we ate a slice of panettone, sweet typical of Lombardy or the pandoro. Afterwards, all have returned home.

    Merry Christmas and Happy 2013 to you and your family.

    Love

                                                                                                            Marta J

    P.S. Happy birthday!!!

     

     

    Dear Serge,

    Thank you for your letter!
    how are you? I'm fine ...
    In this letter I would like to describe how I and my family spend Christmas.

     Every year, on Christmas Day as soon as we wake up, my sisters and I go to see under the Christmas tree and we usually find many gifts.
    we spend most of the morning to discard.
    then, me and my family go to eat at my grandparents' house, and there are other gifts that await us.
    On Christmas day we eat the lasagna, meatloaf and many desserts such as Pandoro and panettone.
    the afternoon, me and my family play traditional games of Christmas, such as the Tombola.
    it's really fun!
    but you know how you spend Christmas?

    Write me soon

                                                                                                           Stefania 

     

     

    Dear Charline,

    Thanks for your letter, I was very happy to read it !!!!! 

    How are you ??? I’m fine…

    I want to tell you about how I spent the Christmas this year; I usually spent the Christmas day with my parents, my maternal grandparents, uncle and aunt in grandparents’ house. But for two years I spent Christmas day with my parents, my paternal grandparent, my aunt and two cousins in my house.

    Every year we decorate the house ,it is very beautiful and comfortable. I decorated the Christmas tree with my mom and prepared the crib.

     And you, what have you prepared for this Christmas ????

    This year I helped my mum to cook appetizers and a fabulous cookies !!!!! =)

    I received many gift : an IPad, a tracksuit, 4 books, a pair of boots, a peluche…

    And you, what have you received for Christmas ????

    TVB,WRITE SOON         xoxoxo                                    Francy

     

    Dear  Victoria

    Thanks for your letter, but  I saw you haven’t understood  I’ m not  from Africa but from  Albania. It is a state in the East of Europe.

    I’ m sorry but I haven’t got any  e- mail address or other profiles.

    I don’ t  celebrate Xmas because I’ m not Christian but I celebrate other  feast day.

    I’ m Muslim  and I celebrate the Bajram  I don’t  know how does it spell in English.

    We celebrate it after the Ramadan. The Ramadan is a fasting period, we dedicate it to our god Allah, thirty day after the Ramadan. Tradition says to kill a ram and divide it into three parts, one of these parts to keep you another part for your relatives and the other for the poor. These days you cook desserts to make the house more sweet. Kids go around asking treats. This is the festival that may change from the places where you are in Albania is so. This is all. And in French are some typical festivities? 

    I wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year as well to your family.

     

    A lot of love  <3 <3  J 

                 Your new Albanian- Italian friend

                                                                                      Izmira   

     

     

    Dear nine,

     

    Hello how are you? I’m fine!!!

    Today I wont to tell you about my Christmast holiday.

    I spend my holiday with my family and my kin. I have some tradition in my family. We open our presents during the transition from the eve to Christmas day. At Christmas we spend all day with our kin, we sing, we eat and we wish each other a merry Christmas. This year I spend my Christmas morning by my uncle because my cousin Elisa cams back from Austria where she lives and she works, at 25 December is her birthday and she wont to spend it with my family. The Christmas lunch is very very long because only family brings some to eat. During lunch we eat the traditional dishes of our family that is the lasagna and stuffed guinea fowl. but I do not like it because I do not eat meat! For me there are vegetables ,or grilled or steamed, are very delicious. Dessert is cake pandoro or covered with a mascarpone cream and strawberries. After dessert we open the presents and we sing a Christmas song. My brother plays the violin for us and the family are very happy!!!

    these are my traditions! how are yours?

     

    Write me soon

    I wish you a happy 2013 full of joy and luck!!  Hugs and kisses

     

                                                                                       Marta                

     

     


  • Commentaires

    1
    Mercredi 26 Juin 2013 à 12:22

    You have shared the best blog. This is what I really need immediately.

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :